Thomas the New Tebow?

Tim Thomas (Photo Credit: Steph Phillips)

We’ve all heard of the recent stories swarming Bruins goaltender Tim Thomas about his reasons for not attending the White House with him defending his choice by stating:

I believe the Federal government has grown out of control, threatening the Rights, Liberties, and Property of the People.
This is being done at the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial level. This is in direct opposition to the Constitution and the Founding Fathers vision for the Federal government.
Because I believe this, today I exercised my right as a Free Citizen, and did not visit the White House. This was not about politics or party, as in my opinion both parties are responsible for the situation we are in as a country. This was about a choice I had to make as an INDIVIDUAL.
This is the only public statement I will be making on this topic. (via Tim Thomas Official Facebook)

Just as the hype and controversy had quieted down he made yet another public statement causing just as much, if not more controversy, in which he claims:

I Stand with the Catholics in the fight for Religious Freedom.

“In Germany they came first for the Communists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant. Then they came for me, and by that time no one was left to speak up.”
— by Martin Niemöller, prominent German anti-Nazi theologian and Lutheran pastor, best known as the author of the poem First they came….(via Tim Thomas Official Facebook)

We can assume that Thomas is objecting to the recent decree that all insurance plans cover costs for contraceptives for women, including those that are employed by Catholic Church. To those not so religious people, like myself, we wonder, why is this issue a big deal? Well, after asking this question out loud, I was informed of how this goes against the Catholic religion.

The Catholic belief is that if a woman were to get pregnant, it means you were meant to have a child in your life. To believe in contraception is to believe in abortion, it is a way of altering a way of life that God has created for you. By allowing insurance to cover contraceptives, you are going against the beliefs of your religion.

For someone who wanted all of the hype of his last stance to go away, he sure wasted no time putting himself right back in the lime light.  While everyone is entitled to their own opinion and expression of freedoms, fans are beginning to wonder what ails the goaltender. When you know that you are in the public eye and are going to be scrutinized more than the average citizen, why make a spectacle of yourself? It’s like throwing gasoline on an already blazing fire.

When Thomas was asked of his most recent Facebook status after the teams 6-0 blow-out he resopnded:

“That’s my personal life. I won’t be commenting. Its got nothing to do w/game of hockey or my job as a Boston Bruin” (@HacksWithHaggs)

If you don’t want to be asked about it, why post it? While the majority of Thomas’s fans(at least 9,913) will stand by him and only take into consideration his abilities on the ice, we all have to wonder when this drama will end. If Thomas spent more time worrying about his game on the ice instead of the reaction he is going to get by posting a political/religious belief on his Facebook, the Bruins may have a better record than 4-5-1 in the last ten games.

 

Leave a Reply

