Tim Thomas’ Bruins Facebook Breakup

Bye Bye Timmy (Credit:Flickr/Slidingsideways)

Much like that text you get saying “I need some time to think about our relationship”, Tim Thomas just took a break from the Bruins. There’s been rumors, there’s been people talking, but today is the first we’ve heard from Thomas himself. Unfortunately, it just confirmed the rumors.
Here’s his post via his official Facebookpage:

“From the earliest age I can remember, I’ve wanted to be a hockey player. I’ve been blessed in my life to not only be able to live that dream, but to achieve more than I ever thought possible.

The singleminded focus that is necessary to accomplish a dream of this magnitude entails (by necessity) sacrifice in other areas and relationships in life.

At the age of 38, I believe it is time to put my time and energies into those areas and relationships that I have neglected. That is why at this time I feel the most important thing I can do in my life is to reconnect with the three F’s.

Friends, Family, and Faith.

This is what I plan on doing over the course of the next year.”

Not going to lie, it hurts a bit to have Timmy break the news to fans via Facebook. Now this is not me being selfish but after announcing his retirement Red Wings Nicklas Lidstrom took out a full page ad thanking fans for the time he spent in Detroit and all we get is a few sentences on Facebook. Really?

What Thomas is doing is raising many eyebrows, mine included. His contract still counts against the cap while he takes a year vacation and to me that’s money that could be going to current players that WANT to play for the Boston Bruins. All I can say is I hope Tuukka Rask is signed soon because he is fully capable of taking over as starting goalie. Honestly if this is really how Thomas feels right now and this is where his heads at, then he isn’t the one I want in net helping the Bruins reach another Stanley Cup Finals.

So thanks for all you’ve done Timmy, without you the team could not have won that Cup last year. This hurts, but I know this breakup is whats best for all of us.

Leave a Reply

