Bruins Hockey is Back in Boston

WE’RE BACK!!! (Credit: flickr/Slidingsideways)

I have been waiting since the end of last year’s playoffs to post this and now I can finally say  Boston Bruins hockey is back in Beantown! This morning I woke up to my phone going off from a facebook notification from an Aery’s post saying “NHL ladies how happy are you right now?” At sixish in the morning being woken up by a text usually doesn’t make me happy but this one caused me to grab my computer, go on Twitter, and shriek!

It’s official; after 113 days, the lockout is officially over.

So on that note…

Now the question is how many games are going to be in the regular season? Well the details are still being hashed out and right now it’s between 48 and 50 games. Yes half of the season, the Winter Classic, and the All-Star weekend are gone, but I will take 48  or 50 games over zero anyday.

So when does all the fun start?
It looks as though training camps will be starting up very shortly and will be no longer than a week. For the who’s who on the training camp for the B’s including which Providence Bruins members could be making the jump into the NHL, check out Steph’s post here.

Now if the season jumps in the already scheduled season, it looks to be that the Bruins first game of the season will be January 19th against our good old besties, the Montreal Canadiens. This game will be an away game for the B’s with the boys traveling to the Bell Centre.

However with the agreement coming earlier then expected, the schedule could get bumped up and we could have an earlier start to the season.

Bruins fans I know some may be disappointed that it took as long as it did to get the season going, but it’s going now and at the end of the day I think that’s what really matters.

I think Andrew Ference tweeted it best this morning. He said:

“As players we can now do what we do best. Proudly pull on our jerseys and play with complete passion for our cities and fans. I hope that we can replace the intense negativity brought on our sport with a reminder of how great it can be when the action is on the ice. From my grandparents to our B’s fans, I am deeply sorry that we had to miss so much hockey. All we can do now is play our hearts out for you.” (via  @Ferknuckle)

With that being said, get ready to put on your black and gold, get your butts to the TD Garden and Believe in Boston! This season is ours and the Stanley Cup belongs in the bean so get ready to cheer for it!

Now if you’ll excuse me, this is how I plan on spending the rest of my day:

Leave a Reply

